Moving Articles

From Liquipedia Hub Wiki

The Move tool is only available to users from Editor role or higher. See User Roles for more details.

Understanding the process

[edit]

Moving a page means giving it another page name. This is done by using "Move" tab at the top. Then simply enter the new name and click 'Move Page'. Normally you would want to leave "Move associated talk page" option ticked.

If you move page "A" to a new title "B", this operation will do the following:

  • Creates the new page "B", with contents from page "A"
  • Replaces the contents of page "A" with Redirect to "B".

For users who have not been promoted to Editor role can still perform the same move process manually through creating pages and replacing contents of old page with Redirection codes.

By using the 'Move' feature, you also move the editing history, which is desirable in most situations. The editing history allows people to see how the contents of the page were built up, and who contributed what. If you move contents around by copying and pasting (not using the move feature), the history does not carry over.

By using the 'Move' tool, a Redirection can automatically be created by checking the leaves behind a redirect box when doing so (see Help:Redirects), it should not result in any broken links, however you might want to hunt down pages or other redirects which link in to the redirect, and change their text to link directly to the new title. The 'What links here' toolbox feature by clicking the tools dropdown on top right is useful when doing this.

Proposing a move

[edit]

Deciding on a page title can be a difficult aspect of wiki organization, and one which can often provoke debates. If the move you have in mind is one which might cause upset or could be considered controversial, you should propose the move first. Do this by leaving a note to give your reasons on the talk page. You might also establish a system for labelling the page itself, with a move proposal template, to make everybody aware of your intentions.

The most common occurences for moving pages often involving

  • Player or a Team has change their name to a newer name.
  • Page was created with either incorrect or improperly formatted page name.
  • Page was created earlier than intended, such as not meeting the Notability Guidelines in a specific wiki.
  • Page was mistakenly created by accidental.

Undo a move

[edit]

As with all wiki editing, a move operation can be reversed (by any user). To reverse a move operation, simply move the page back, e.g. move page "B" back to "A".

The page title "B" will still be left behind, as a redirect from "B" to "A". Any user can remove the redirect and propose that the page be deleted. However the final deletion will require sysop privileges (see Help:Deleting a page).