Skip to content

Clear notifications automatically - #2310

Closed
MarcosCobena wants to merge 3 commits into
sourcegit-scm:masterfrom
MarcosCobena:feature/clear-notifications-automatically
Closed

Clear notifications automatically#2310
MarcosCobena wants to merge 3 commits into
sourcegit-scm:masterfrom
MarcosCobena:feature/clear-notifications-automatically

Conversation

@MarcosCobena

Copy link
Copy Markdown

I find it useful to let notifications go after a delay without having to clear them explicitly.

Backlog:

  • clear notifications after a delay without adding new ones
  • expose this behavior at Preferences, disabled by default
  • let the user customize the delay (5 s by default)
@love-linger

love-linger commented Apr 27, 2026 via email

Copy link
Copy Markdown
Collaborator
@MarcosCobena

MarcosCobena commented Apr 28, 2026

Copy link
Copy Markdown
Author

Thank you for the feedback.

I understand you, let me think if we can support that in any way.

I will write here down some ideas:

  • moving notifications to top right corner, so do not "block" the main area and let you keep working
  • hiding notifications after a delay, but user can still open and close them as before
@love-linger

Copy link
Copy Markdown
Collaborator

The reason why the notifications(errors) are displayed in the middle (and just under the popup) of the window is:

Error messages/notifications are usually displayed after an action complete/failed. At that time, to clear notifications, user can just move mouse down and click.

@MarcosCobena

Copy link
Copy Markdown
Author

@love-linger thank you again; I am better moving this into an issue.

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment

Labels

None yet

2 participants